Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Item number or not, I can say that these USRA 2-6-6-2 Mallets are one of the best things Lionel ever did. I have 3, but not the C&O version. Very good and accurate detailing. Detailed "enough". They capture the look very well. One of my top 5 Lionel locos of all time. Of course, I'm a table-grade modeler, not OCD.

Excellent low-speed abilities. The sound is...meh. OK; just fine. 2 chuffs, but, oh well. I did change the RS 4.0 chips in mine to other large steam (GS-4, as I recall...), as the "syncopated" exhaust is incorrect for a compound locomotive. Much better.

One of my TMCC units has the old "Odyssey jerk" (on initial operating session startup - once only per session), the other does not. Built in the same year. Odd. My third one is a Legacy unit (got it new but damaged - pretty cheap - and re-assembled it); better sound, but it doesn't run any better than the TMCC locos - and doesn't need to.

If I "had to sell" most of my stuff, I'd keep these (and the NYC locos). 

Last edited by D500
@J Daddy posted:

These are great locomotives. I have the Nickle Plate road version. They pull and sound great. I think my only frustration with these, is replacing the traction tires on the rear set of drivers. They are located on the front pair of wheels behind the steam chest, and a real pain...

To revisit this old discussion: how did you get on with the tire replacement...any tips? 🙂 I have all 4 to do...😳

Mark in Oregon

I do have the Legacy version, but with this one, you can update it to 4-chuff per revolution.  I did this for all my "2" chuffers.  Just get the ElectricRR Chuff Magnet with reed switch.  Then remove the wires from the existing chuff switch and connect them to the reed switch.  Quarter the magnets on one of the drive wheels and set up the reed switch.

I know it sounds like a lot, but once you've done one, the rest go easily.  Here is my Berkshire that I updated from 2 to 4 chuffs.