Skip to main content

Hi, I am new to trains, but my 7 year old son loves them.  For Christmas he is looking for a remote control to control his trains instead of the CW-80 transformer.  We have the basic train set : Polar Express, Yankees, Sante Fe, Fire Engine.  Someone said the 37147 will allow him to control them remotely.  Can someone let me know if that is correct or does the train need to be compliant?  Like I said I have the standard CW-80 transformer, will this work?  If yes, do I need cables?  I tried to read the manual on line, but that is not definitive.  Please help.  Thank you

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

The simple answer is no for direct control like a Legacy engine would.  But yes if you add a Legacy Powermaster to the,setup. The PowerMaster raises and lower track voltage like the CW80 would, but remotely.

You could also see about adding a Electric Rail Road (ERR) board to the Polar Express, but that might be cost prohibitive

Last edited by cbojanower

kjmkjm,