Just for starters I know you said you checked a couple of cables, but just to make sure. You might want to check all your cable connections. Not only a visual inspection but also make sure they are securely connected.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .