You just never know. I’m personally tired when ever any of these threads come up the doom and gloom folks jump at the chance to post. Personally a little hope is not a bad thing right now. Until otherwise announced I’m all for a little hope.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .