I don't know the cause, but your procedure was correct and at least your layout was wired in such a way that a methodical check was possible. Some, sadly, are not and then you are left with just guessing.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .