John, most definitely YES!!. We actually had about a month ago quite a few guys from the Detroit Hi-Railers. They totally loved it and thought it was totally and I mean totally worth the trip from Michigan.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .