Depending on the version of Works you may be able to open it directly in Excel and then save it from Excel to a standard xls or xlsx file. Older versions may require a converter. Do you know what version you have?
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .