Gotta keep the Old Guard on the roster, so hang in there. It's been a rough road, but you haven't driven off it, and it seems the roughest stretch is behind you now. Just keep looking ahead. Best to you and your wife.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .