Yes! As the beneficiary of Stan's advice and assistance as documented in the linked thread above, I tossed my old Lionel UCS controller boxes (ugh) in favor of a variety of switches I picked up. Call me a happy camper.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .