I suspect the new one won't have all the Vision Line detailing or features, so I don't see it undercutting it that much. It really depends on what the new one is like, and exactly what street price point it hits.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .