Thanks, Peter. I bookmarked the link to the pennyandkc - and, by the way, that answered almost all my questions, and the one remaining was answered by the map on Wikipedia. What an interesting segment of NYC the Put was.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .