I seem to have stumbled onto a hot topic with all these replies. Thanks for the many ideas. I still have to decide to make some kind of permanent repairs to boxes where the flaps on either end have come off.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .