I have one and plan to upgrade it. Its not that rare. Put me in the camp that thinks Command Control trumps conventional operation. It won't alter the appearance so for someone planning to just put it on the shelf it should not matter.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .