Could be a bad segment or lobe. There are three. One of the wires could be broken. I had this happens many years ago. But I got lucky. A wire had come loose from the commuter. It was obvious by looking at it. I reattached it and all was well.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .