I feel your pain. Tearing up your layout can be as bad as a divorce. Well. in some ways. I had to go through dismantling my railroad some time ago. Planning a new one after some ten years and the excitement is back.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .