Try tethering the remote to the TIU, see if they get in contact that way. Exactly how old is the TIU, and what version of software does it have? I've connected my 6.1 software remote to TIU's with 3.xx versions of software.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .