Considering the upgrade APP is free and the likely hood of a friend or family member having an iDevice is pretty good I would inconvenience one of them for the 3-4 minutes it takes to upgrade your Universal Remote.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .