Skip to main content

Is there a thorough online tutorial or video on replacing axle bushings? This new to me 2343 has wheels rubbing when it moves forward. Running in reverse it performs excellent.  Everything else looks good as I have servicedE6183F36-FB5F-43E3-B1FD-3679EC8574F6772AEA8C-4506-4E37-BE04-D15CB6524607 the motors and lubed the gearboxes  

I’m new to postwar but I’m willing to invest in the correct tools (part numbers?) to repair these properly.

Attachments

Images (2)
  • E6183F36-FB5F-43E3-B1FD-3679EC8574F6
  • 772AEA8C-4506-4E37-BE04-D15CB6524607
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

That is a very nice looking locomotive.  It would have to have the wheels run off it to wear out those axel bushings.  Where are the wheels rubbing?  Can you move the wheels around when the power truck is disassembled?  The side frames are attached to the truck body with screws and can be adjusted.  I suspect this to be the case.  I have a lot of power units with the horizontal motors and they are darn near indestructible.

Inspect the worm wheel on the axel shaft, I have only had to replace one.

Good luck.

Most operators just cut a plastic washer from a butter tub lid or something similar. Cut it round to about 3/8 to 1/2 inch. Drill a hole in the center slightly larger than the axle. Then cut a v notch so you can slip it over the axel, between the wheel and the frame. Problem solved. You may need to put two on one axel, till it runs smooth. I have done this on a few engines. As far as I'm concerned it has been a permanent repair.

Chris

I've repaired quite a few of these trucks.  They are a pain because the bushing is either worn, or it got pushed in from being loose (unusual) or the wheel was pressed on incorrectly which pushes the bearing into the truck block.