Skip to main content

hello everyone trainfam here,

I have a 38 in a collection, which I adore very much, however it seems to be having some issues. I just got some restored track off of eBay and decided to run my 38 on it. However when it goes around the curved track, the wheels seem to bind and won’t budge. Could anyone tell me how to fix this problem?

Trainfam 

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Just for giggles, did you try to run the train in the opposite direction around the curve?
If it still binds, I would try and take the side rods off the wheels on both sides and try it again.

Side rail holes may be worn and may cause the wheels to bind.

I am not a expert but having a similar problem where may have to re-gauge a wheel on one side a my side rods are new.

You probably have a worn compound gear -as stated above.  This would account for the fact it runs in reverse but not forward.. the gear gets more wear in the direction it is most used—Forward.  Just replace it and check all other gears for wear too.

Your wheels might be slightly out of quarter also. This some times happens if they slip on the axels and are out of gauge (get wider and pop off the the compound gear).

Olsen's kindly hosts service information for much of the older Lionel, including your 38 and many STD Gauge motors:

http://www.olsenstoy.com/searchcd31.htm?itm=966

http://www.olsenstoy.com/searchcd2t.htm

Forum Sponsor, @Harry Henning seems they may have the correct compound gear, but he could for sure let you know which part number would be correct and if he can supply it:

https://hennings-trains.shopli...40p-25t-w-screw.html

Last edited by bmoran4

Rocking could be a tweaked frame or bad axle bushings too. Re-tweaking is possible. Also may need to re-stake things if its bad.