Skip to main content

Hello all, 

I have the subject engine and would like to convert it to the electric Railroad Company Electronics to make it TMCC. Has anyone done that to this engine? What do you think of packaging the electric Railroad Company Electronics in this engine? If anyone has done it please contact me if you would at jba435@gmail.com.  need all the help I can get as I have never done one of these before. 

Much thanks, Jerry 

Attachments

Images (1)
  • 20170916_132455
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

First you will need to replace the pullmor motor with a can motor. Timko offers a direct drop in with no modifications needed to the frame. It's a small motor but will still pull nicely. If you stay with the puffer smoke and original railsounds you can mount a ERR cruise lite in the boiler. I did this with the 704 warhorse Hudson. I only use the ERR for the motor driver for TMCC. I left the original LCRU mounted as is, but disconnected the two motor leads. The LCRU runs everything except the motor. You'll need to mount another program run switch. I made a mount and mounted it directly across from the other one on the gear box cover. Undo the wire connection connecting the two hand rails together. Use one hand rail side for the LCRU and the other hand rail side for the ERR. If you ever need to sell them put the pullmor back in and connect the two motor wires and you are back to the original. Obviously take out the ERR. If you want all the new stuff that GRJ offers then you will need to take the original LCRU out or send the engine to him for total upgrade. It sounds like a lot but it's a simple upgrade. Good luck. 

Rod Miller

You can use an AC Commander and keep the Pulmor. It might fit in the engine. If not there should be room in the tender for the AC Commander and Railsounds.