Our local phone book was published by a big company. They errored by printing a local doctors phone number as the phone company's customer service number. The phone company had to provide an operator for an entire year (until the next printing) to switch the calls to the doctor or the phone company.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .