If I remember correctly, the gentleman who typically starts the midweek photos post has often stated an open invitation for anyone to start it if he hasn't already - he doesn't own it, just takes the initiative. I believe he also has a life outside of posting photos that may keep him occupied from time to time as well.
When you block a person, they can no longer invite you to a private message or post to your profile wall. Replies and comments they make will be collapsed/hidden by default. Finally, you'll never receive email notifications about content they create or likes they designate for your content.
Note: if you proceed, you will no longer be following .