Skip to main content

I have been working for the past two months on an extensive renovation project of my layout. Part of this work included retooling the switch yard where I store passenger trains not in service. Since 14 passenger trains present a tremendous power requirement were they all to be on an active track, I needed to come up with a way to power these tracks as wanted and at the same time limiting the power requirements.

Jim Williams (ibew701 on the Forum) based on my design requirements built a rotary dial control system to handle the power issue. You  simply dial the desired track and it becomes active. All others stay inactive. I have a similar system that controls the 21 tracks in my roundhouse area. Incidentally Jim has does work under the name of Dream Layouts. He is a great friend and the system he built is really slick.

There are three components, the rotary controls, the relay board and a 12 volt DC power supply.

c1

c2

Attachments

Images (2)
  • c1
  • c2
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

I use AIU's to control relays to turn track power on and off in my passenger yard and engine yard. Each one is controlled independently.

Admittedly, you could turn too many on and flip the circuit breaker, but I haven't done that yet. I need an idiot to visit me to do it.

On the other hand, it's certainly not as visual as what's shown here.

Gerry

Ben:

It is one at a time for tracks 1-7 & one at a time for tracks 8-14. I liked this concept as it has never been a problem for me in the 21 track area where the turntable and roundhouse are located. If you need to power two tracks at the same time within the stated groups, I guess you "punt".