Skip to main content

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Many years ago, when Atlas was first introducing its 2-rail O-scale line, Model Railroader ran an article about an O-scale pike with 42" radius curves (I don't think it was O-42). I don't remember the issue or the exact size, but it was intended to showcase O-scale in a smaller than normal space. You might be able to search for it on an index Trains.com. There 's also another online index; I would have to look for the link if that doesn't work out for you.

A semi-circle of 42" radius won't fit in 5' though. For an oval, you are limited to 28" radius. I'm no expert in 2-rail, but that sounds like trolley, switcher, or old-time 4-4-0 type equipment.

@The-576-Guy posted:

I have seen many videos of 2 Rail O Scale Layouts and all of them take up a large amount of space. I currently have a 5ft'12' layout & I am wondering if a 2 Rail O Scale layout can be built within that space?

Maybe watching videos is a wee bit misleading as to actual requirements as an absolute?  Requirements are based upon your actual objectives.

All depends on what you are trying to model -- 5' is a bit deep to reach into - can you access that from both sides?  12' long makes for a lot of opportunity in a switching point to point operations arrangement.

BTW, my layout is in an 11' x 16' room and runs around the walls and loops around w/o blocking the entrance way -- small steam, small diesel, trolleys, and mostly cars 40' or less in length are completely possible.

Having an idea of what equipment you’d like to run should help determine if you can make it work in that space.