Skip to main content

There are some Champ decal sets online that I would like to purchase. I believe that Champ went out of business in 2010. I wouldn't use these decals until Atlas' SW switchers are finally released, so I figure these decals would be 9 - 10  years old when I use them. Or, older.

I'm a novice. Do these decals "go bad" in some way? Should I avoid? They are coming from a seller that seems to have many Champ decals in stock .... not someone's scraps.

Thanks

Last edited by CNJ Jim
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

1st off, there are very few Champ decals that are younger than 10 years old and the vast majority are probably older.

They may  "go bad" but you can test that using some bit cut from the page by putting it in some water assess structural integrity.  It is holds and you can remove it, slide it off the paper, and onto another surface, you're probably good to go on the rest of the decal page.  When in doubt, you can just spray the entire decal page with gloss coat, let that dry, and use as usual.

Or, you can just spray the entire decal page with gloss coat, let that dry, and use as usual w/o the test stage.  I've used decals that are many decades old though and very rarely have any failed.

Last edited by mwb

Mayb

EBT Jim posted:

There are some Champ decal sets online that I would like to purchase. 

Do these decals "go bad" in some way? 

My experience: Maybe, maybe not.  It's been a very iffy thing in my own experience (mostly HO decals...but probably not of anything special compared to the O versions.)

However, I've adopted my own policy of pre-coating old decals....those for which I have no idea how they were stored and for how long....with Microscale's Decal Film...

Decal Film Link