Skip to main content

HI All

I'm new to this and a little confused. I thought O scale would be the way to go because I can see them. Anyway I didn't know about the 2 rail and 3 rail thing. So my question is . How do I know if I am getting 2 or 3 rail trains and cars ? Also do most of the O scale trains makers trains and cars work together what I mean is can you mix and match them ? O one more thing I bought some real tracks because I thought it would be a good track to start with.

Thanks a lot Stan

Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

If you are interested in prototypical (real) trains, then you will probably want to look at 2 rail. If you want to pursue the toy side, go 3 rail. Three rail is easier to find than 2 rail, but it's all out there if you look. Your best bet might be to get on you tube and look at both and see which you prefer. There are plenty of videos of each to look at.  2 and 3 rail are for the most part not compatible. This is the readers digest version, but you have to start somewhere.

Simon

HEY STAN,

Three-rail track is unrealistic.  You don't see it on real railroads.

Two-rail track is realistic.  You see it on real railroads.

So if you want your model railroad to look like a real railroad, then you know which way to go.

That's it!

BAD ORDER HAL

Last edited by Former Member
Originally Posted by Bad Order Hal:

HEY STAN,

Three-rail track is unrealistic.  You don't see it on real railroads.

Two-rail track is realistic.  You see it on real railroads.

If you want your model railroad to look like a real railroad, you know which way to go.

That's it!

BAD ORDER HAL

Aw, Hal....!   There ya go a'gin  Now m' feelin's is hoit!  Why'd ya hafta try 'n make me regrets m' basement full of 3-rail trains????

KD

...gonna go pour me 'nuther glass of merlot!

PS...I just ventures over heah t' "The Dark Side of O" to see if there's any tolerance left!!

Nope, not today!

Last edited by dkdkrd
Originally Posted by dkdkrd: