Skip to main content

I'm rather new to this and i think I am trying to fit to much in a small space. But I would like to have 3 trains running at once, with room to stage others. I would like reversing loops if possible. Are there any layout designs out there already. I keep building and taking down because I'm not satisfied. Is this normal. HELP and thanks in advance.
Original Post

Replies sorted oldest to newest

Lots of people here are willing to help, but it would help if you supplied more info about what your goals and priorities are, such as:

1) Are you set on a 8x12 rectangle or would you be better served with an around-the-room layout?  The latter often gets you more bang for the buck using the same amount (or less) of total space used.

2) Radius.  The bigger the radius, the better your trains will look.  Tight radius turns take up less space but can limit the size of the engines that you can run.  And just because that nice articulated loco CAN make tight curves doesn't automatically mean that it can look good while doing it.

3) You have a method of operation in mind? Some are happy with a few concentric loops, others look for point-to-point operations, or some combination of both.

4) Pick the key features that you want, such as yards, passenger stations,

freight car sources/destinations, Engine facilities such as the ubiquitous turntable.

Other considerations:

-Steep grades will limit how long a train you can pull.

-Make sure there's room for "enough" scenery.

-Looking for a "toy train" vs. scale model layout?

-Only you can judge what your priorities are, but with this limited amount of

space, you definitely can't have everything.

-Mark

Mark,

First thanks for your quick response. And yes I do believe people on here are will to help and help ALLOT.